Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Detail for Charity... well, kinda. Trashed Toyota Avalon - Corrected and Coated.

So for those of you who don`t know, detailing is not my full time job. I am an engineer and do my detailing work on the weekends. Anyway - every year my company helps to bring donations to the United Way. One of the ways my division helps to raise donations is through a silent auction in which employees or local businesses can donate products, services, homemade goodies, etc which other employees can then bid on. All of the money is then donated to the United Way... a pretty cool idea. I decided to help out by offering a "routine" detailing package consisting of what I call a Routine Maintenance Detail (basically a very thorough cleaning and application of sealant or wax) and Routine Interior Detail (a thorough vacuuming and wipe down of all interior surfaces).

The person that placed the winning bid on my donation was hoping to have his wife`s vehicle cleaned up. I asked him to bring it to work so that I could have a look at it since he mentioned it had swirl marks that he was hoping to have removed. Upon initial inspection, I could tell the vehicle was in poor shape. I explained that a two-stage correction would be best to remove the majority of the swirls and restore the gloss to the vehicle. I also explained that the Toyota Jet Black paint was some of the softest paint and is therefore extremely fragile. A coating would not only help to provide superior protection from the elements, but it would help to resist light scratches and swirls. The owner agreed to go with the 22ple VX1 Pro Coating. I deducted the full price of the donated package from these upgraded services and even threw in a free engine detail since I figured the entire car should be clean!

Process

Engine
    - Rinse
    - Wash underside of the hood with soft brush