Post Thanks / Like
    Hello,

This was my very first attempt at claying/waxing my `97 Lexus ES300 which I had recently purchased. I have never done waxing a car before so I am a complete newbie at this. I live in a high rise building in a downtown area, so the parking lot of an automatic car wash was the only place available to me to do the work.

After the car wash, I used Clay Magic to clean the surface. Then applied 2 coatings on Meguiar`s Cleaner wax, with a one hour break in between (I did the interior in that time). I know a lot of you would prefer the more professional method of using a paint cleaner, polish and pure wax, but given the fact that I had to do this in a car wash`s parking lot, I couldn`t have done that. Morever, since this was my first attempt, I didn`t want to mess it up.

So after I finished the complete process, which took me 5 hours at a stretch, I returned home and it started raining heavily. Rain was not predicted in the forecast, else I wouldn`t have done this today. Since it is raining barely less than one hour after applying the wax , will it completely ruin everything that I did? Does the wax take any time to "settle in" ? I would hate to see my effort go completely waste. What should I do after it stops raining? Would I have to redo the whole process again.?

Please advice. I had not factored the rain in my calculations

Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like
    MB, although it rained after you were finished, consider yourself a step ahead. At least you had it clayed and protected, prior to the rain, its not a total loss. Megs cleaner/wax (#6), is a bargain basement product, for folks like yourself, who appreciate decent results with minimal effort, even though you spent 5 hrs.