Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    I placed some emails to Sal at Zaino and David at Optimum regarding putting Zaino and OCW on fresh paint. In all the threads I have been reading about what to put on fresh paint, most suggest a glaze is all that can be done. Well, I cant do that. I tried to put some #7 on this weekend and it looked fine, but when I re-washed the truck today, there were terrible water spots on the whole truck. We have really hard water around our area, and a drop will spot almost permenantly. So I decided I needed a new approach and wanted to try to put something on the paint that will leave some protection. Then I remembered Zaino and OCW were rumored ok on fresh paint so I emailed the companies and they responded as such.

Sal`s response.

There`s alot of misinformation about waiting three months for the paint to

cure.

I am a custom painter by trade. I am very familar with Dupont, PPG and

all the other paint manufacturers.

The most I personally would wait on fresh "aftermarket body shop" paint

before

polishing with Zaino Show Car Polish is 1 week. That`s more than sufficient

curing time.

Zaino contains no wax, silicones or abrasives.....

The new paints are catalyzed. A chemical reaction cures the paint. The

older lacquers and enamels needed time for the solvents to release. This

is not the case anymore. Believe me if that paint need 3 months to dry

than it will never dry.... Just the facts.

For the Ultimate in paint protection and an incredible Show Car finish on your above scenario. I recommend purchasing the Zaino Bros` Total Protection Show Car Kit.. Code# ZKIT-1

NOTE: Z-18 CLAYbar is not necessary on fresh paint...

David from Optimum

Dear Mr. Wiggins: