Post Thanks / Like

Four Star Leather Conditioner on vinyl

Does 4* LC harm vinyl. Given the most top coated leather seats usually are really combination of leather in seating areas and vinyl elsewhere, would applying 4* to these vinyl surfaces do any harm?

The Rainmaker
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Four Star Leather Conditioner on vinyl

Quote Originally Posted by Bunky View Post
    Does 4* LC harm vinyl. Given the most top coated leather seats usually are really combination of leather in seating areas and vinyl elsewhere, would applying 4* to these vinyl surfaces do any harm?
    Sure hope not!
    I have been using it on our 2000 Pontiac GTP since 2002 or 2003. The leather still looks great. Maybe not totally "like new", but close enough for someone that didn`t see them new.
    It may not be the best leather conditioner on the market, but it seems to be working for me. The smell is something I really like. Not overpowering, just a hint of leather scent.

I used a Woolite and water mix, (1 part Woolite, 6 parts water) for cleaning for a couple of years, but have been using Four Star Leather Cleaner for the past 3 or four years.
    There`s talk that a leather conditioner doesn`t do any good on coated leather. Whether the condition of my seats is due to the conditioner or due to the regular cleaning, I have no idea. I just know something is working.
    It`s not a garage queen either. It`s a daily driver with about 60,000 miles on it. It`s used, but not abused.

Charles

Post Thanks / Like

I talked to Rich V. at Four Star and he said that the LC is a water based and the only oils are the scent. I think it is more a protectant type product and not a traditional leather conditioner with oils so it is suited for top coated leather.

I was just wondering if I could apply it to vinyl (the parts of the seat that are not top coated leather). I am not suggesting to use it on the dash or other trim. I may just ask 4* again.

Post Thanks / Like