Post Thanks / Like

Splotchy leather after cleaning

So i used megs aloe leather cleaner on my tahoes seats and used a brush to scrub them. After wiping off the seat my towel was covered in dirt. Now the bottom of the seat kinda looks a little splotchy, did i remove some of the dye? Can i fix this?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Splotchy leather after cleaning

my guess would be either try another cleaner or use the Meg`s again and see if it clears up the spots. I`ve seen that problem many times. I would`nt be too woried I highly doubt that you took the dye off.

The Man Who Knows The Man
    Post Thanks / Like

Without haven seen what the seats look like, my response is nothing more than a WAG. I have no experience with that particular Meg`s product, but I tend to agree with 9D4E420. Perhaps the splotchy appearance is caused by some areas being cleaner than others.

You WILL like my work! jayjacque's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Late model or little older Tahoe? If it`s getting a little age I wouldn`t doubt the dye is starting to wear (after all the driver`s seat gets used a lot). I repair/refinish/re-color a number of these every week. It`s almost always the driver`s seat just closest to the door opening where people slide in and out. So scrubbing on already weakened leather finish could give the result you describe. Hard to tell without seeing it. But I`d try a little conditioner on it, see if that helps the visual. If it does, I think you`re still in good shape. Just cut back on the scrubbing.

Post Thanks / Like